Sex Offenses


Practice Area: Sex Offense

Sex Offense Attorneys in Raleigh NC

Sex Offense Lawyers

North Carolina’s sex offenses range from Class A1 misdemeanors (Sexual Battery) to Class B1 felonies (Forcible Rape). Conviction of a sex offense has serious consequences. In addition to facing an active prison sentence or probation, persons convicted of violent sex offenses are required to participate in North Carolina’s sex offender registration program. The registration program requires persons convicted of violent sex crimes to register with the county of residence as a sex offender for a period of at least ten years. Persons convicted of violent sex crimes also cannot live within 1,000 feet of schools. In some sex offense cases, registration as a sex-offender is optional. Rather, a judge may impose Satellite Based Monitoring. If you are charged with a sex offense, you will need an attorney who is prepared to minimize the public exposure of your alleged crime and help you understand the possible effects a conviction may have on your future.

Sex Offenses in North Carolina Include:

* 1st Degree Forcible Rape – This crime occurs when a defendant has vaginal intercourse with a person by force, against that person’s will, and the defendant uses or displays a dangerous weapon, inflicts serious bodily injury on the victim or another person, or is aided and abetted by one or more other persons. This is a sexually violent crime, a conviction of which requires registration under North Carolina’s sex registration statutes.

* 2nd Degree Forcible Rape – This crime occurs when a defendant has vaginal intercourse with a person by force and against that person’s will, or with someone who is mentally disabled, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless. To be guilty of this crime, the defendant must have known, or should have known, that the victim was mentally disabled, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless. This is a sexually violent crime, a conviction of which requires registration under North Carolina’s sex registration statutes.

* 1st Degree Statutory Rape – This crime occurs when a defendant has vaginal intercourse with a child under the age of 13 years, who is at least four years younger than the defendant, and the defendant is at least 12 years old. This is a sexually violent crime, a conviction of which requires registration under North Carolina’s sex registration statutes.

* Sexual Battery – A defendant is guilty of this crime if he or she, for the purpose of sexual arousal, sexual gratification, or sexual abuse, engages in sexual contact with another person by force, or with a person who is mentally disabled, mentally incapacitated or physically helpless. The defendant must have known, or should have known, that the victim was mentally disabled, mentally incapacitated, or physically helpless. This is a sexually violent crime, a conviction of which requires registration under North Carolina’s sex registration statutes.

* Sexual Activity with a Student by a Teacher, School Administrator, Student Teacher, Coach, or School Safety Officer – A person is guilty of this offense if he or she is a teacher, school administrator, student teacher, coach, or school safety officer and engages in vaginal intercourse or a sexual act with a student. This is a sexually violent crime, a conviction of which requires registration under North Carolina’s sex registration statutes.

* Sexual Activity by a Substitute Parent – A person is guilty of this offense if he or she assumes the position of a parent in a home of a person under the age of 18 and has vaginal intercourse or engages in a sexual act with a person less than 18 years residing in the home. This is a sexually violent crime, a conviction of which requires registration under North Carolina’s sex registration statutes.

* Indecent Liberties with a Child – A defendant is guilty of this offense if he or she, for the purpose of arousing or gratifying sexual desire, willfully takes or attempts to take an indecent liberty with a child who is under the age of 16 and at least five years younger than the defendant. This is a sexually violent crime, a conviction of which requires registration under North Carolina’s sex registration statutes.

* 2nd Degree Sexual Exploitation of a Minor – A person is guilty of this offense if he or she, knowing the material content or character, records, photographs, films, develops, duplicates, distributes, transports, exhibits, receives, sells, purchases, exchanges or solicits material containing a visual representation of a minor engaged in sexual activity. This is a sexually violent crime, a conviction of which requires registration under North Carolina’s sex registration statutes.

* 3rd Degree Sexual Exploitation of a Minor – A person is guilty of this offense if he or she, knowing the material content or character, possesses material containing a visual representation of a minor engaged in sexual activity. This is a sexually violent crime, a conviction of which requires registration under North Carolina’s ssex registration statutes.

* Other Sex Offenses – If you have been charged with a sex crime, call our office to discuss your best options. We will work with you to develop a comprehensive defense to the allegations you face.